08.07.05
#1011 - Orientation at Irvine

randomlayout / my designs

greed

lust

pride

I am back from orientation! I would've written sooner, but when I got home yesterday (at 2m) I immediately crashed on the bed and slept till this morning at 7:30am and I only got up because I had to work. I can't believe it's already so late, because now I've finally finished up everything I needed to online... xanga, myspace, etc... and I still haven't put anything away that I need to like clothes (from orientation).

So Thursday when my mom and I got there, we were late so most of the people were already there, and I didn't get to mingle with them till later. There was one girl there that I immediately kinda talked to, but I don't remember her name (it was a weird one) and I didn't really talk to her for the rest of the time. I should've though, cause I think she was pretty nice. There was a show on the stage about not using drugs or having sex (duh). Then we went back to the halls. I don't think I will like dorming because of showering though... it really is a hassle... but I'm sure I will get used to it eventually.

My roomamte and I didn't talk often... she was a girly girl; she reminded me of a preppy cheerleader (no offense to cheerleaders). She was a good roommate, but I don't really care about her as a person. After, we went to the university town center and some people bought boba or Inn-N-Out... but I didn't have any money, so I just kinda went around to other groups. (Oh yeah, we were all divided into groups based upon our hall. I was in a hall called Cumbre out of Viento, Prado, Brisa, and 2 or 3 others I can't remember) There, I played games... really lame ice breaker games... one called Dip, dip, dip... and another called Boom chika boom (you might know this one, it's kinda popular). It was a good effort and something to do since I was bored.

When we got back it was pretty late, but we stayed up to play something called the stick game... which is so stupid. I couldn't figure it out (until the last day when I asked someone before I left), because it was just so stupid, even now when I think about it, it gets me angry because it was so stupid!! After that, I went to sleep around 2am, because I knew I would need the rest.

Friday, I got up at 7:30 and after I ate it was academic advising. Then it was lunch, then more academic advising. It was tiring but it really helped though... it clearified everything and I know what to do now. I will be taking pre-calculus, chemistry, and writing. I know... only 3 classes!!! Hahaha! I only meet 3 times a week and for less than an hour for each class! It's beautiful. College is so much better than high school. Ha!

Anyway, after that, I wondered around and I bought a general catalogue and then took my student ID picture... yes, I am now an official student. After that I went back to the hall, and we played games and just hung out at the living room until it was time for dinner. After dinner, we went to the talent show, which was done by the staff (known as staffers, and they were all college students). The staffers were awesome! You could really tell they put so much effort into it, because the show even lasted for like 2 hours, no lie. After that was a dance, which lasted quite awhile too. The dance was awesome in that, they played a lot of old songs, even YMCA and some weird ones like The Hokey-Pokey. It was all good. The best part about the dance was when we held hands so we'd be one big chain, and then we'd run around (led by the leader, the people in the chain followed)... it was really awesome. That is something I'd want to do again for sure.

After that, we went back to the dorms, and to try to stay awake, the staffers put us into groups and then we had mini-contests... that lasted for a good while, but eventually 4am rolled around and I fell asleep in the living room in the hall. We were supposed to stay up all night (it was some tradition), but I couldn't take it. I've never been able to stay up all night before, and I knew that I wasn't going to make it that night either. Oh well. The staffers along with some other peoeple woke me up a few times... they wanted me to participate, but I just wanted to sleep and I wasn't gonna get up for some stupid sunrise that I've seen before. I missed breakfast and woke up at 8am.

After that, it was closing ceremony, and we went to the auditorium and said some goodbyes, and then we went back to the halls where we said more goodbyes. We played a semi-game, I guess, where everyone faced the wall and then some people came around and touched people's shoulder if they felt that they were under the category called out. One person thought I had a nice smile, which was surprising because I wasn't sure that I smiled throughout the whole time.

I felt a little left out most of the time because I didn't really feel like I belonged. In fact, I didn't really begin to feel okay until I talked to this guy Friday night... while waiting in line for dinner. He's name was Chris. I could tell he was another one of those people that was feeling left out. I saw him a little at the dance. He was kinda standing there because he didn't want to dance... While trying to stay up Friday night and playing those group games, he happened to be in my group. When I went to sleep, the first time I woke up, there was a blanket on me... and he later came up to me and said that it was his. I'm not sure if he did that or a staffer... a staffer would make more sense, but why his? Coincidence? Hmm...

Anyway, he disappeared after the semi-game with the touching of shoulders. I think he had to leave early for a flight or something maybe? He lived in between the moutains or something up North... I don't remember where exactly. He didn't seem like the type to drive down here, so I think he had a flight. I don't know.

Anyway, after the game, we left. It was a crazy experience overall. I'm going to try to be a staffer next year, especially since I got touched on the shoulder 3 times for the category of "someone who would make a good staffer".

It's only been a few days, but it feels like forever in a way. I miss Jesse a whole lot now.

Good day.


sloth

envy

wrath

gluttony