08.11.02
#113 - Prostitution or loveless?

randomlayout / my designs

greed

lust

pride

Halo! I'm actually in a fairly good mood, but I am super tired! I went to sleep at 3am yesterday... but believe me, it was unintentional. Well, yesterday was crazy though. When I woke up, it was 11:30am, and the first thing my mom made me do was move this big desk that contains her computer. She moved it to my brother's room *scratches head*... go figure. Then we ate lunch. Then she said go do the laundry and clean the refrigerator okay? I said okay. And she went off to the little store place to help out my dad. So then I do the laundry... man... she tells me to hang the clothes outside so the sun can dry 'em. You know, the old-fashioned way? Man, I can't stand that shit... I wanted to use the dryer!! Mostly due to the fact that the dryer picks off the junk stuck to the clothes, do you konw what I'm talking about? Oh well, if you don't. I don't know how to explain it real well. So then after that I clean the fridge, and at around 3, my mom comes back and my brother comes back from his friend's house (the people across the street) and then my mom makes my brother eat and I said, "damn it's 3pm?" and my brother says, "well, the party (his friend's birthday party that is) starts at 5 o clock so I might never get to go if I have to keep eating!" then I start cracking up because he just basically stated there that he can't finish eating in 2 hours. Hardy har har. Anyway, I continue cleaning and then it's 4pm. So I start doing some of my summer assignments, because I remember that the day before, Andre had said that he was on chapter 16 and I was on chapter 11. And I started earlier than him! And before summer school ended, I was on 11, and he was on 6... so I was behind and I was like... ARG! So I said to myself that I was gonna continue doing that shit. So I did, I went up to chapter 15. It was pretty boring, but at least it still had that same flow going. Anyway, after that I played the piano, and then we ate food. Then it's 9pm and my mom says, "we need to move the junk around in your room" (well not in those exact words) and I stare at her funny and scratch my head, and I say "you mean the whole room?" and she nodded... so we moved everything and if you know what my room looks like, oye... it's so much different. In fact I think I'll draw you what it looks like right now... I put up the way my room originally looks and what it looks like now... I didn't do a good job drawing it though... the measure of the room is really badly drawn... you can tell if you've been to my room previously, in the way that it was originally I mean. Well anyway... you can go look at it. I went to sleep at 3am yesterday... then I woke up today at 2. Tee hee heh. My mom called me at 12:30 and said, "get up!" and I didn't and I woke up at 2... hardy har har... well then I pretty much continued my homework for the while... and I got up to chapter 21 today. And actually I think I'll tell you what it's about so people who haven't read this book and is supposed to, I suggeest you don't read it, unless you want me to spoil it. but here's what happened...

The story begins as this poor guy is talking about how he's going to get a wife today. So he goes and gets a wife and the wife is a real hard worker. She carried a kid and still worked and she had the baby all by herself without anyone's help. And she did this all through her pregnancy. They have 5 kids altogether. The oldest is a boy, and then another boy, and then a girl, and then twins, a boy and a girl. Anyway, later on, they get real rich and the guy starts to feel dissatisfied with his wife, saying how she is plain. So he goes to this little 'tea shop' and it's a 2 story building. Above is where all these woman are and they're all prostitutes (thought they didn't call them that), and there's this woman that guy knows and the woman says to him, "what are you doing here?" (somewhat to this degree) and he says, "I have all the money I need, why shouldn't I be here?" and the woman says something like, "yes, have you tasted the wine?" and he says "no, only the tea" ... "all the money in the world and you haven't tried the wine?! ... and I supposed you haven't been with another woman either?" "no, only tea" and then she points to some pictures on a wall with all these beautiful woman, "pick one" she says and he pretty much runs away. Then the next day he returns... and this time he picked one... and he slept with her! What a fagot! Not only that, but he keeps going back, and he hardly feels guilty. Then he even builds like 5 extra rooms in his home, he paid that woman 100 silver (the woman owns that prostitutes) just so he could have her as his own... and he still has his wife! I mean what the fuck is up with that... then I read one of the discussion questions in the back and it said, "As O-lan (she's the faithtful wife) dies, she bemoans her lack of beauty and says she is too ugly to be loved. Wang Lung (the guy) feels guilty, but still cannot love her as he did Lotus (the prostitute). Neither woman can control destiny. Lotus was an orphan who had been sold into prostitution because she was beautiful, and O-lan had been sold as a kitchen slave because she was plain. For whom do you feel sympathy? Why?" and I thought about this... I mean, if you're too beautiful like Lotus is, then you have to be a prostitute. I mean, you get all the money and the riches, but to sleep with people? And especially people you're most likely not even going to like... you'd want to sleep with something up to your taste wouldn't you? And you can't choose who to sleep with and you're first is mostly likely an ass... plus, you'd have a bad reputation... on the other hand, you can be like O-lan, and you're ugly and not even your own husband likes you, much less loves you. So I don't know which one I feel more sympathy for... but most likely O-lan cause not even her husband likes her... but if I had to choose, I don't know which one I'd rather be... O-lan or Lotus...

*kOrn 4 n I n*


sloth

envy

wrath

gluttony