12.23.02
#225 - The Perfect Drug interpretations

randomlayout / my designs

greed

lust

pride

Argg!! I'm getting annoyed. Whenever my window freezes, I have to rewrite my entry. Oh well. This entry is about the song The Perfect Drug by Nine Inch Nails of course. I always thought this song was about love and some girl holding the image of being "the perfect drug", but upon reading other people's opinion's, I'm beginning to think twice. So I relooked at the lyrics.

The beginning part seemed to make sense if it was about drugs or something else for that matter, however, the 2nd verses are more specific.

"You make me hard when I'm all soft inside, I see the truth when I'm all stupid-eyed" I forgot what I interperted as the first line. Darn.. well I think the second line means that he realizes everything when it hits him in the face and by then it's too late.

"The arrow goes straight through my heart, without you everything just falls apart" This part is a little confusing. The first line it seems he's connection and allusion to cupid... it could relate to anything. And the 2nd line, same thing, but you would think it's a person that's causing things to fall apart. The next verse is even harder, 'cause I found 3 different versions:

"My blood wants to say hello to you
My fears want to get inside of you
My soul is so afraid to realize
How very little good is left of me
"

"My blood just wants to say hello to you
My fear is warm to get inside of you
My soul is so afraid to realize
How every little bit is left of me
"

"My blood wants to say hello to you
My feelings want to get inside of you
My soul is so afraid to realize
Every little word is a lack of me
"

The last version is the one I'm familiar with, but now that I found all these different ones, I'm sure there are others, and I'm not sure which one is correct! Arg! It all makes it so much harder to interpret!! Well, I still think it's about a person, but I'll keep an open mind that maybe it's not. Confusing. And speaking of Trent Reznor and stuff, I made another Trent layout. :) Hehe. Well bye now.

*love you for always*


sloth

envy

wrath

gluttony