12.25.02
#226 - Gone With The Wind

randomlayout / my designs

greed

lust

pride

"There was a land of Cavaliers and Cotton Fields called the Old South. Here in this pretty world, Gallantry took its last bow. Here was the last ever to be seen of Knights and their Ladies Fair, of Master and of Slave. Look for it only in books, for it is no more than a dream remembered, a Civilization gone with the wind..."

I've yet to read the book of it. The movie totally was not what I expected. For one thing, I did not realize it took place during the Civil War. And I actually learned some stuff to know that the Civil War was between the south and the north. All that stuff about history in the movie wasn't a total waste! The movie did not make much sense to me... well it didn't make sense to me at all! I don't get it one bit. You'd think that the ending would be good, but it's not. Instead of an happy ending, Rhett left Scarlett! Well, I suppose someone had to teach her a lesson, but still, I feel like it does not make much sense. Melly was a perfectly happy and selfless girl, yet she died because she was weak. I do not see the popularity in this movie, none of it makes sense!

Scarlett is a selfish and mean as heck devil that realized that she had taken Rhett for granted way too late. I mean, yeah, how can you forgive Scarlett for doing that, but I thought love was strong and all, I would've thought that Rhett would love Scarlett enough to forgive her. It doesn't make any sense! The more I think about it, the less sense it makes. Anyone has some interpertations of the movie they'd like to share with me? You're more than welcome!

I don't get it though... and after all those hardships and all... she's such a brat. I still don't get the movie. What's the purpose? I mean, like what's the plot and what's the meaning behind the book. I mean, To Kill A Mockingbird, the meaning behind that was to show that people are scared of what they don't know. Maybe, GWTW is talking about what you deserve in life and stuff, but I already know about that... there must be something else besides that, I'm not used to this idea of learning a lesson I already know about a movie... anyone wanna help me?

I feel love sick, but I don't know why. I can't describe this feeling, cause well, I don't know what it is. I think... I think... I want a guy, a nice decent guy, who'll tell me he'll love me, mean it and never let me go, but why am I dreaming about this all of a sudden, I do not understand. I find that it's really hard to find sense of what I mean lately. I feel like I'm wasting my winter vacation away thinking and doing nothing. I've been doing nothing but reading for the past two days of old books that I enjoy... old romance books. I feel pathetic. I mean, is it so wrong to have a decent guy? *Sigh*

I guess sometimes I ask for too much, I think I'll just stick to my books, in there, I could always feel hopeful that I'll find that nice guy, 'cause in the end, hope's all you've got. Well, that ends my entry. Happy Christmas everyone. I'll bet this is the earliest to wake for Christmas, the funny thing is, I haven't even slept yet.

Gone With The Wind is such a complicated movie!!! Oh and my favorite part of the movie is when Rhett says, "No, I don't think I will kiss you - although you need kissing badly. That's what's wrong with you. You should be kissed, and often, and by someone who knows how" about Scarlett. Go look at some sites, espicially this one.


sloth

envy

wrath

gluttony