01.21.03
#260 - All you wanted

randomlayout / my designs

greed

lust

pride

The song "All you wanted" by Michelle Branch always makes me want to cry. Why? Well, I decided to take a look. I posted the lyrics a long time ago, on this entry.

The first phrase goes:
I wanted to be like you
I wanted everything
So I tried to be like you
And I got swept away

This is me right there. "I wanted to be like you." I think this represents, who I want to be. "You" is not literally, you. It's The Person, that person that I want to be. So then, I tried to be like that person. "And I got swept away." This to me, shows that I messed up, I've become someone I'm not. I think this relates to my obessesion of being "perfect" in everyone's view, that I lost myself along the way.

I didn't know that it was so cold
And you needed someone
to show you the way
So I took your hand and we figured out
That when the tide comes
I'd take you away

I think in this verse, The Person is talking to me. It's like an apology saying, "I didn't know you needed me." The "I didn't know that it was so cold," I think that being cold is a metaphor for being lost from who I am. Well, "to show you the way" is pretty bluntly stated. The Person is trying to show me the way. "So I took your hand and we figured out that when the tide comes, I'd take you away." I think this is so important. The tide is a metaphor for when bad things come or when you feel lost, etc, and how when that happens, The Person will take me away from my troubles. In a way, The Person keeps me going.

If you want to
I can save you
I can take you away from here
So lonely inside
So busy out there
And all you wanted
was somebody who cares

THIS RIGHT HERE! TOTALLY BOMBING! Michelle Branch is totally describing me right here. The Person is calling out to me. "If you want to, I can save you, I can take you away from here." This part describes how I need someone to free me of my troubles. The 2nd part, THE BEST PART, "So lonely inside, so busy out there, and all you wanted was somebody who cares." This is me. I'm lonely inside, I'm keeping myself busy so I don't have to deal with my problems. And all I REALLY want is somebody who cares!

I'm sinking slowly
So hurry hold me
Your hand is all I have to keep me hanging on
Please can you tell me
So I can finally see
Where you go when you're gone

The first part: "I'm sinking slowly, so hurry hold me. Your hand is all I have to keep me hanging on." This part I feel that The Person is talking about how I'm losing myself, and I'm saying, "hold on to me!" "Your hand" is a metaphor of all that's left that I have to live for. Because the hand is led to The Person, I feel like it's all worth it, because The Person can help me. This last part, is very scary to me, "Please, can you tell me, so I can finally see, where you go when you're gone." This last part is about what it's like when The Person is gone. Obviously, it feels like that I need all the attention on me, that when The Person leaves, I panic and I need to go where The Person is. This describes my constant need of attention. It also, more importantly tells that, I can't live without The Person, because I'm so scared that The Person will leave me, that I have to know where The Person is.

So there you have it. This is why I get so emotional over this song, because I feel like The Person is talking to me. Reminding me... I just wish I could talk to The Person. Cause in Michelle's song, there's a person, in my life, I WANT/NEED a person.

sloth

envy

wrath

gluttony