05.09.03
#388 - Serendipity

randomlayout / my designs

greed

lust

pride

Serendipity: the faculty of making fortunate discoveries by accident.

Do you think that life is all accidents? Or do you think that life isn't? Do we make our own choices or are they made for us, but we don't realize it? Is it destiny or fate? Or maybe not?

Sure, these are just words, but they seem to be so much more. When I think of destiny or fate, I can't help but feel a little... hopeful, dreamy... unrealistic. As if a destiny is something great beyond words that it just can't be said, that maybe "destiny" or "fate" isn't a good enough word to describe it. Why do we think that our destiny is always something good?

Maybe there is no destiny at all... maybe destinies are all in our imagination. Something that little kids think about to live in endless happiness, like in fairy tales. Do we decided our own destiny? Or do we just live one that's already planned out?

Sometimes, I think I am living my own life, making my choices. But other times, when I meet someone new, someone who is bound to make a difference in my life, I wonder if that person was supposed to come into my life. If the person hadn't, would I still be me? Or someone else? If we all stop to think about it, everyone changes the path or anyone's life or anyone's choices. So in a way, I guess chosing your own path and just following it, is mixed together... like a combination.

Is the world in utter choas, capable of anything? Or is it organized, as complex and as impossibly organized as might seem to be? It seems that if it wasn't organized, everything would go wrong, but what if what's supposedly wrong, is actually the right thing?

I think that we make our own paths before we are born, after we're born, we follow it.

We are both. We're destiny and we're not. We lead and we follow.

Serendipity. What do you make of it? Are you leading? Making your own choices? Writing down your own path? Deciding your own choices? Or are you following? Walking the path? Playing a part of fate? Waiting for your desinty? Or are you both? Frollowing and leading? Walking along the road you made? Following the fate you indite? Creating and walking along your destiny?

Serendipity -- it describes itself with the most eccentric word. One that fits itself and a word that's better than destiny or fate, maybe it's not so hard to find that word... maybe it's just serendipity.


sloth

envy

wrath

gluttony