05.11.03
#390 - Mother's Day

randomlayout / my designs

greed

lust

pride

I don't know if it's just me or not, but it seems to me that every year, all holidays get more and more uneventful. I mean, I don't know anyone that celebrates Thanksgiving or Easter anymore. Do I just mingle with the wrong people or something? Or maybe people just know it but don't say anything. I think it's sad, because one day holidays that we celebrate now might not even exist anymore if we don't really take the time to celebrate it. Have humans sank so low that we take holidays for granted now?

Have you noticed that in elementry school, teachers always take the time to explain each holidays and take the time to make something if it comes to it. I'm not American so I have no idea how most people celebrate holidays. I guess that's okay, and I can live with that though. It's just that each year, it seems that traditions are being broken and to me that's so depressing. Is it just me? I hope so.

I never really know what my mom wants. She's always said to me that the best present I could ever give her is going to a university, becoming successful, that kind of stuff. This year, I decided to invite my mom and the rest of the family to dinner with me paying. It will probably end up being them paying for it anyway, but she'll be happy that I thought of it and remembered that it was Mother's day.

Speaking of Mother's Day and stuff. I decided to pay for my mom's ticket for the band banquet. I remember mentioning the band banquet a few entries ago. She said no, because it cost $20, but what she didn't know was that it was held at a hotel, and after she heard that, she understood why it had cost so much. I offered to pay for her and she said, "that's okay, I'll pay for both our tickets". Then she added, "but you pay first then I'll pay you back." I knew that if I did that it would be me paying then, not my mom, because my mom never remembers to pay me back unless I ask her for the money and I'm not the type to ask people for something, I wait for them to give it to me. So basically, I paid for it.

I think my family life has change dramatically since last year. I don't know how my mom and I got through it all because of all the fights we've had, but we're gotten really close now. And for the most part, I can tell her anything. She keeps reminding me that if I ever get a boyfriend that I should tell her and not get distracted by him, cause school is first priority. I've told her about a thousand times that I would tell her if it happened, though I don't expect to have a boyfriend anytime soon, at least not for awhile, but I guess it goes to show you how much my mom wants to stay updated in my life.

I think that when you're a teenager, you think that your mom doesn't understand. I used to think that too, but I've come to realize that she does understand. Just take the example between my brother and I. He says things that make it seem innocent or something, but I know what his true intentions are. For example, my dad was on the computer today but eating at the same time. My brother says, "why are you on the computer, while you're eating?" As if he didn't know. He just wants to point out that he wants to go on the computer and eat at the same time, and to cover his tracks he says to me, "But anyway, I know he's doing it because he's older than me." But I know the only reason he said that was because he knew I was going to point that out to him. But I said it anyway, "The only reason you asked him that was because you want to eat and go on the computer at the same time." Then he says, "no" as if I couldn't tell he was lying. Anyway, my point is that I think parents do understand. We think they don't because "times have changed" or they don't allow us to do something we want to do. They're only trying to look out for us because they've been there themselves, but of course... we're not gonna listen.

Oh yeah, I was looking at some Charmed pictures and I realized that Charmed is at it's 5th season now. I can't believe it but I haven't watch Charmed in about 2 years. I really miss Prue and I wish that things had worked out between Alyssa Milano and Shannen Dorthey. I think it really sucks, because that used to be my favorite show in the whole entire world. I'd never miss a single episode, but ever since Shannen left, that show just isn't the same anymore and it makes me too sad to watch it. I feel like the cold sister or something not accepting Paige, but I don't know... I don't like her. I don't understand why they didn't get rid of Alyssa. I think Alyssa and Rose are so alike, while Shannen and Rose are so much different. I never really liked Alyssa that much as it is because she acts so spoiled. Grrr... I wish Prue could come back...


sloth

envy

wrath

gluttony