07.05.02
#68 - Article in Seventeen

randomlayout / my designs

greed

lust

pride

"We all remember the first time we fell in love. I fell hard and took every bit of my self-respect down with me. He was one of those guys every girl in school liked at one time or another. We started dating at the beginning of seventh grade.

After that, every day was a struggle, with me trying to convince him he needed me. I was too blind and scared to realize that he didn't. I hated first myself, then him and all the other girls he liked, because I always believed I just wasn't good enough. We dated on and off. Each time, our relationship ended with my heart getting broken-and then us getting back together. And every time, he swore the next would be different.

By the end of eight grade, we'd finally ended the on-and-off dating thing for good. I tried to move on with my new life and new boyfriends, but rumors that my ex had spread months before-things he told people we'd done that we hadn't, for instance-never let up. I got frustrated to the point where I promised myself I would never love again, and I tried. Really, I tried.

One evening, after a very fun and special night out with two of my closest girlfriends, I came home and logged on. That's when I was IM'd by Michael, a boy who'd been in my class for three years. I'd talked to him online but never in person. A few of my friends had dated him, but it never quite worked out. He wasn't my type. I always went for big, loud guys-the jocks you couldn't help falling for, who dated all the girls. Michael was quiet and reserved; he was a wonderful athlete but not at all arrogant about it. When he said "Hey" to me online that night, I had no intention of falling in love.

Well, I can testify that love turns up in the least expected places. Michael and I quickly found what we needed in each other. It's been seven really great months. He cares about me, respects me and loves me. And more than giving me love, he has helped me find myself and love who I am.

So if you're in a relationship where you're sacrificing your self-worth, let it go. Love is out there-and will find you when you're ready for it." -Kimberly, 14, Virginia.

I really like that last paragraph. "If you're sacrificing your self-worth, then it's not worth it." So fine, I'm finally convinced. I'm moving on. If love never finds me, then I guess that's fine too. At least, I won't be hurt. I think I'm just not sure where to go from here. Should I still make the effort to be friends with Chris?

I hAvE -CRueL INteNtioNs- fOr yOu.


sloth

envy

wrath

gluttony