02.10.04
#681 - Sonya

randomlayout / my designs

greed

lust

pride

I have not come across a girl named Sonya in a long time. I was looking through some review sites and I saw one where a girl's name was Sonya. The last Sonya that I knew was this bitchy girl that always made me feel inferior to her back in the 7th grade. She was a year older than me and she always treated me like she was the boss of me.

I was in ASB (Associative Student Body) in 7th grade and my teacher, Tyler, made me run for treasurer. Another girl was running, this girl named TreAna. I really liked her; she was a nice girl, but Tyler made me run for treasurer because someone had to run against her. I didn't want to run, because I hate stuff like that, but Tyler made me and well, my friends convinced me to do it too. They said that it would be good for me and stuff.

When Sonya found out, she immediately started being nice to me. Even today, I still don't know why she started to be nice to me. Maybe she was the former treasurer, I forget if she was. She kept helping me out with my speeches that I had to make and all this stuff. She treated me like she was my mentor, kind of. She gave me tips and when I was giving the speech... well, we taped it, so I got to try more than once. Of course, I never got it perfect and each time I messed up, first Sonya would yell at me kind of... Well, she scowled me and then she would say a few encouraging words that I could do it. I think I did it 4 times, and I was still unhappy, but the teacher doing the recording had to go, so that was the final shot.

Sonya was so disappointed in me, I think. I guess it was because she knew the speech or whatever wasn't good enough. I didn't have it memorized and I stumbled with the words. But I was so nervous anyway, but I don't know, she had this "oh well" kind of look. Then after that, we didn't talk for awhile and when TreAna got treasurer I was relieved because I didn't want the position in the first place, and then Sonya started to be mean to me again, making me feel inferior. I think I felt somewhat disappointed too.

My life is somewhat a reflection of that. I am still very submissive, definately not as much as then, but I know that if someone where to give me a tough time, I would feel inferior again. I'm just glad that nobody treats me like that anymore, otherwise my life would be a living hell. The truth is, I can't stand hostility so I always go out of my way to please someone and sometimes I feel like I did something wrong, even though sometimes I didn't. Sonya is just a reminder of that - a reminder of who I am.

I don't know what happened to Sonya, but she probably went to a different school than I, and I am so happy that she doesn't go to my school... but I guess since there's about 2,000 people in my school, it wouldn't really matter. I wouldn't have any classes with her cause she's a year older and I don't have ASB. But anyway, she's the type of people I avoid, because coming across them doesn't help me any. If anything, it hurts me.


sloth

envy

wrath

gluttony