03.07.04
#714 - So insanely thankful; so insanely lucky

randomlayout / my designs

greed

lust

pride

Today has been... well, really long. And I think that I believe in God just so much right now. You'll see what I mean once I tell you what happened.

The first thing I'm thankful for is to those of you who wished me good luck and believed in me, and I don't want to jinx it, but I think I did well on my piano test. Only one of my piece got really messed up. I was so nice to the lady grading me and stuff... she loved me, I could tell. She even said she enjoyed hearing me play. (And no one's said that to me before in my past tests) I loved my last piece. I got really into it. It's called "The girl with the flexen hair" by Debussy. It's so wonderful, if you ever hear it, it's so peaceful... or if you want to come over to my house, I'll play it for you. Hehehe.

Oh yeah, I had to drive about 40 minutes to get the testing place, so I decided to wonder around the area after my test was done. I ended up buying these 2 DVDs. One of them is called One Hour Photo or something like that. It's kind of an old movie. I bought it because I saw this movie on Chris's shelf in his room when I went to his house over 3 weeks ago. I was really interested in this movie and I know Chris would never remember to bring it to school to let me borrow. I didn't really care because it only cost 7 dollars. I also bought The Ring. Yeah, I know, this movie really freaked me out so at first I really didn't want to buy it. But in the end, I decided that I will. Maybe I'll be able to get over the fear.

When I came back home it was about 12pm. My brother wanted me to send him to his friend's house (more than 20 minutes away). So I took the freeway 'cause we were kinda late. And then when I took the freeway on my way back... well, this next part is so creepy.

I guess I was going too fast, because during a slight turn, I moved the wheel too much, so it kind of overturned, so of course, you kind of panic and turn the wheel back the other way. I don't remember if I was breaking or not, but I guess, instinctively, I should be. Anyway, when you're going about that fast, a sudden turn the other way doesn't make it better, it makes it worse. So I moved the wheel the other way... made it worse. Each time I turned it back the other way, it was harder to gain control and I noticed that each time I turned the wheel, the further out of the lane I got, and then finally I just kind of let go of the wheel. The next part was kind of blurry. I think I spun a little more, but I don't remember really, but finally the car turned right.

I don't remember if the car was screeching or not, but I guess it would be. And afterwards when I was thinking about it, I wondered if the car would flip over if I was a little faster. I don't think I was going that fast... probably 75mph (maybe 80mph...) at the most... I was in the 2nd to left lane and I ended up in between the 3rd and the 4th lane from the left.

What was I thinking when I released the wheel? Surprisingly, I did not think something like "goodbye world." Actually, I didn't think that I was going to die, but afterwards I realized that if the car flipped over, I could've been seriously injured. Anyway, I didn't think about how much trouble I was gonna be in. I'm not even sure I thought about if any cars were gonna hit me. What I did do was, just sit there... I wasn't sure if I used my breaks or not, but I must've or else why did I stop completely? But I don't remember my feet on the breaks. I'm not sure what I was thinking in that moment. I guess my mind was blank. It was the weirdest thing, facing right on a freeway... I think the only thing that comes close to words about what I was thinking was "oh well, I'll just let the car spin out of control," because that's what I did. I released the wheel and it just spun to the right...

You have no idea how lucky I am. I didn't get a single scratch on my car. And neither did I get hurt or injured anywhere. Well, maybe my emotions were a little out of control afterwards, but that's a small (very small) price to pay all things considered. It's weird, but when you're in the car and it's happening, you don't panic, at least I didn't. Not only is that lucky, but if my wheel had turned left instead of right, I really might've gotten hurt... You have no idea, I'm so thankful. And I'm also really glad that my brother wasn't in the car with me. I don't want him to experience something like that. And besides, he'd tell my dad, and in the end, if I didn't get hurt and neither did the car get scratched, I'd rather just keep this to myself and in my head, because I know if I told them, they would remind me about it everytime I drive, and I don't need someone to tell me to remember something like this.

The first thing I did after I put my gear into drive again was I said, "Thank you so much, God." I stayed in the right lane driving at about 55-60mph the rest of the way home. I am never driving my dad's car again, not on the freeway anyway. One of the reasons I lost control was my dad's car's wheel is different than my mom's. My dad's steering wheel, if you moved it a little to the right, it'll really move to the right... but my mom's if you move it to the right, it doesn't really move as much as it would on my dad's car. Another thing was the fact that I went so fast... I should've just stayed at 70mph.

Anyway, don't believe what they say. Miracles are out there. I'm living proof of that. God's here for me.


sloth

envy

wrath

gluttony