03.25.04
#736 - Reality TV shows

randomlayout / my designs

greed

lust

pride

I'm a little angry because my entry got destroyed by my computer. My internet connection seems to be up again, but my computer is acting up. I think it might have something to do with pop ups, so I downloaded this stupid thing that detects pop ups, the thing is, it's a 15 day trial program... I hate that.

I watched this movie, Donnie Darko, today. I kind of liked it. It was one of those movies where I would want to talk to someone about it, but don't really know who. The movie is quite interesting and Donnie is very intelligent in the movie. I love his mind. If you get the chance, watch it, it's a good movie, but watch out for the creepy bunny named Frank.

I don't know why they call it reality TV shows, it has nothing to do with reality, not really, it's just that people on the show aren't actors. How is that reality? We have shows like Forever Eden, Joe Millionaire, My Big, fat, obnoxious finacee, and even THE SIMPLE LIFE, now that really amazes me. It's nothing about reality, not really. If anything, it's about human nature and human reactions. In more than half the reality shows, someone always ends up getting hurt. How can you have a show like Joe Millionaire and expect people not to get hurt? It's like putting eggs in front of a snake and expecting the snake not to eat the eggs. And you wonder why humans are the way they are. We're such sadist, but we don't realize it.

How and why do we find reality shows so enjoyable? And if it's not enjoyable, why do we keep coming up with these new ones, such as The Swan? The plot doesn't even seem that interesting, but they just had to create it. Why do we set ourselves up like that? This all started with that one show, about one or two years earlier, Temptation Island. Where a few couples came on an island where they put their relationships to the test. If you ask me, that's stupid. Why do you need someone else to come into your relationship, break it up in order to see that someone's meant for you. You're gonna end up getting hurt, and who knows, it may be too late, or too hard to try anymore. Why would you want to set yourself up to get hurt like that? Reality TV shows are stupid.

I don't know why humans even encourage it. It doesn't make any sense to me. I can't stand knowing the fact that in a few years, boring, dramatic TV shows like The O.C. or stupid, petty reality TV shows are gonna take over. That's why I'm so glad Wonderfalls is on, that and Tru Calling. Those are about the only TV show that I like now, and the occasional American Idol isn't bad either.

I'm so sad that Top Model ended, because now, that's one less thing to watch. :( We've got models, and we've got singers. I wonder if we'll ever do one for actors/actress, because I think I would try out for that one...

You know, it's funny because a few years ago, we loved shows like Dawson's Creek, Buffy the Vampire Slayer, and other series show like 7th Heaven... now we pretty much hate it, but now that I see all these new shows, the old stuff doesn't seem that bad, you know? And with Friends ending, man that sucks. What's become of our TV shows? Reality TV shows are equivalent to the time now, like dramatic series was to the last decade or generation... I hope this doesn't mean all series are gonna end in a few years. I couldn't stand it if these boring shows took over our TV.

One things for sure, news will always be on...


sloth

envy

wrath

gluttony