03.26.04
#738 - School Days (POY)

randomlayout / my designs

greed

lust

pride

"Wether you're still in school, or long out of school, what is it/was it like for you? Do you/did you experience any bullying? Are you/were you in any 'cliques', popular or not? Do you/did you do well in school? Do you/did you enjoy it or is it/was it a bad experience? What is so far/what was the most memerable about being in school? ....Etc...."

School is such a vague topic, you can literally write about almost anything when it comes to school. I can't believe I've never talked about this before, considering I complain about school to certain people all the time, and it's not about reasons that you would think.

I don't like high school in particular because everyone is so fake. Maybe it's just my school, or the people in this area, but everyone around me - fake, fake, fake. And I can't stand that. Why do people feel compeled to be someone they're not? Why must they pretend they want to be friends with me, when in fact that's the far truth? If you don't want to be my friend, or even care about me, then don't. It's not like I will be missing out on something... well, maybe a friendship that's based on a lie, but who would want that? That's why I can't stand fake people. Don't fucking waste my time if you don't care.

But despite all the fake people at my school, I have been pretty fortunate to meet some good people. In particulary my chem friends right now, Reina, Jed, Bo, Sarah, Zuri and Kwan. They're all so smart... I, in particular, love hanging out with Bo. I seem to have such a easy time relating to her.

The thing with high school though, I can't just say what high school is like in a few sentences for me, I'd have to break it up into each year, because each year was different for me. I loved my freshman year because I was so free and I never thought about things. I didn't think the world was corrupted. I disliked my sophomore year because I had the hardest time breaking things off with Nancy. I'm enjoying this year because I am learning so much about myself, more than I ever have. And before high school... the middle school days and the elementry days... I can always seem to combine all those grades together. Despite that I went to different elementry schools every year and the fact that I never really made friends, I was never sad. It's true that I was really a loner, but funnily enough, that never impacted on my life at all... not in a negative way anyway.

Middle school was the funnest times of my life. That's the part of my life, right before I lost my innocence, but I was old enough to know how to have fun. And that's the best part of my life, but all of that felt like years ago. Since my innocence was taken away from me, I can only focus on what is now. That saddens me, but it's not to say that I don't enjoy my life now.

School in some ways is so stupid. The way the system works, it's dumb. Why do we take 6-8 classes daily and get slammed with all this homework, when, in reality, some of these subjects will have nothing to do with our major? What we should do is take 2-3 classes a day, get less homework and focus on each subject more. Why do you think kids do so well in summer school? And the fact is, we need better and more dedicated teachers. Some of these people, I know don't really give a crap...

Overall, high school is what will really be imprinted in my head... I would never call it the best days of my life, but probably the most eventful years of my life and with tons of good and bad memories. High school is interesting. It's about learning about human nature and about yourself.

My school does not have any cliques. We're the most diverse school you've ever seen. We've got just about all types of blood here, and I think because we're all so different rather than having a few different ones, we can't really pick on anyone. That may be why there's no bullies at our school. We do have some degrees of cliques really. I mean, people will hang out with people who have things in common. The goths are gonna be with the goths, and yes, the smart nerds with the smart nerds. So it's not like we mean to or try to, but it just naturally happens. There'll always be groups. That's the way life is, but the groups at our school respect one another and I think that's what makes my school a good experience.

It's hard to say what my most memorable moment was in school, since almost all of my life so far has been spent at school, well, half of it. I have so many memorable moments that I would never be able to list them all. Like I said, high school is about all these different memories that we've created for ourself. That's why so many people say that high school is the best time of our lives. It is probably the most memorable time of our lives. It is sad to some degree that we bitch about it, but I think that after school is over, we'd really miss it.


sloth

envy

wrath

gluttony