09.02.04
#844 - My brother's birthday

randomlayout / my designs

greed

lust

pride

Today is my brother's birthday. Yesterday, I went out and bought him Zelda: The Four Swords (with parent's money of course). He wanted DDR, and so did I. I was in fact actually sort of looking forward to it, because I've always had an obssesion with DDR. So much for that... Mom promised my brother that she would buy him DDR and I'm really disappointed that it didn't come through. I think that's about the first time that she broke a promise. I understood that she felt bad about it, but I was angry. Mom has never broken a promise... and I was angry that she did. Had it been up to me, I would've been angry, but my brother didn't care. Perhaps it's because my dad used to brake promises all the time and I looked up to my mom that she didn't break any... and now... so much for that. I am so disappointed, because I really did want to play DDR, but my stupid brother, he doesn't understand. He figures that as long as he has that Zelda game, he has something, and to him, that's good enough.

The reason we didn't buy DDR was because we don't even have a playstation 2. Of course, there's a playstation 3 coming out soon so they won't even make ps2 games anymore after that. We have a bunch of ps1 games, but our ps1 is broken. We could play the ps1 games on the ps2, but the thing is, our games are mostly copied, so in addition, we have to buy this card in order to play it... which is hard to find, because they are kind of illegal, so I'd have to buy it from an independent store... however, all the independent stores are closed down because of the nonindependent store... They took away all the costumers.

Anyway, the ps2 itself cost 150 bucks, and that's only one controller. We'd have to buy a second one eventually, that's about 25 bucks. Also need a memory card, another 25 bucks. DDR game is 40 bucks, and one pad is 20 bucks... but we need two, so that's 40 altogether... So we're looking at 280 bucks altogether... and my mom thinks that it's a waste of money to buy a 200 ps2 (ps2, controller, and memory card), when we're not even going to get other games. I was actually thinking that I should bring the ps2 with me when I go to college... and that I would buy more games... there goes that idea. Anyway, I don't think $280 is that bad... I got a fucking ticket for 340 bucks. Meh... maybe if I hadn't gotten that ticket we could've bought that ps2... *sigh*

Anyway, it seems that we're spending a lot of money lately anyway...

Since today is my brother's birthday, I was actually hoping that he would be home... but he's friend came and took him away. Isn't it sad that he's only 10 and he's spending his birthday with a friend and his father rather than with family? I was so angry when I heard that, but I don't even know why. I guess I finally know how my mom must've felt when I started celebrating my birthdays with my friends... but I was 15 then! And anyway, my parents never bought me any games for my birthday. Oh well, I suppose it's cause I don't ask. That's the difference between my brother and I. I keep things like what I want inside, while my brother tells my parents and have them buy it for him.

I guess the real tragedy is that my parents believe that I don't want anything... and if they do know that I want something, they would never know what it is.


sloth

envy

wrath

gluttony