12.12.04
#875 - Grandpa gambling

randomlayout / my designs

greed

lust

pride

I had a really weird dream last night. Actually, I had a lot of weird dreams last night. I fell asleep at around 8pm, and I woke up a lot because I left the computer on and there was music being played.

Anyway, the dream I had, it started out really weird... I was with my dad and someone else, a friend, I'm not sure who. The car broke down and somehow my dad knew this area that had a lot of stored cars so we were gonna go there to borrow a car? We went there and it turns out that none of the cars there work. It was important that we get home fast too because we stole a video tape from our neighbors. Somehow our car started working again, but then we saw our neighbor on the road driving home and we tried to get into the car to chase after them, to get home before they did... Unfortunately by the time I got on the road, I couldn't see them anymore.

As we approached the freeway, there was this lady there and she asked us for tickets or something and it cost money to use the freeway (which is odd because the freeways here are free). After my dad paid (without complaining, which is odd) he asked the lady about if there were these other people that came by (our neighbors) and I don't know what happened after that... but eventually we went into the freeway...

Next thing I remember some of my relatives are in my car and we're driving to somewhere else. We arrive at this stadium and the seats can slide down? As we slid all the way down, the people on the other side did too until the people in the front (where I was) almost bumped into them... and then the announcer told us to lift up the seats (they were made of metallic small rectangular pieces) and told us to pass it all the way to the top and that the first one to do it wins something. Unfortunately, first we had to push the seats up before we could lift it and pushing it up was really hard... so I walked to the top to recieve the seats instead.

There was my grandma and then my grandpa (which is impossible, both of my grandpas are dead). We got all our seats nicely stacked next to grandpa (he was on the last seat, at the top) though and then I saw this lady that tried to steal one of our seats and I told her to give it back and she did... and then as I watched them longer, I realized that she was betting money to get these seats and I asked grandpa if that's what they were really doing. And then he just kind of mumbled something, confirming my thoughts. And just when I realized that, he lost a lot of seats and I yelled at him, asking why he gambled and I started crying and I ran down the stairs and then into somewhere else and eventually to the rest room.

I was crying really hard in a stall and after I had calmed down and wiped away the tears from my eyes and I could finally see around me, I noticed that Eric was in there with me. He asked me what was wrong and I told him about my grandpa's gambling of the seats and then he was holding and comforting me and trying to make me feel better. I asked him how he had found me and he said that he saw me while I was walking down the bleachers and he followed me in here.

I don't remember what happened after that. I don't really have strong feelings about gambling though. I guess, I just really wanted to win. I'm really competitive and I guess I couldn't understand why grandpa would gamble the seats away, especially since it looked like we were gonna win. I just don't understand that. Maybe the dream is telling me that it's okay to lose.

The second part with Eric is a mystery to me because I wouldn't know what Eric would do if he ever saw me cry. I don't know how he would handle it. In the dream he reasoned with me and made he feel better, but I wonder if he could really do that in real life. Would he be able to make me feel better? Most of the time when he's feeling down and we're IMing, I don't think I really cheer him up. I'm just not that good at it. I never realized how cheering up someone could be hard to do.

On a totally different subject, I started to review at Haha reviews again. That makes me feel better because the 3 people on the pending list who were waiting for who knows how long will finally get a review. Alright, I'm out.



sloth

envy

wrath

gluttony