03.02.04
#709 - Diaryland survey

randomlayout / my designs

greed

lust

pride

I got this through random surfing through Trisha.

1. What is your name?
Anna

2. Your age?
17

3. What is your Dland name?
annachan

4. Why did you choose it?
I'm not sure, but read this page for more info.

5. How long have you been a member?
Two years in one and a half weeks

6. How did you find out about Diaryland? Through a search engine.

7. Good experiences on Diaryland?
Everything and everyone has been good to me so far. I really enjoy diaryland, otherwise I probably would've changed services a long time ago.

8. Bad experiences on Diaryland?
Mostly the deleted entries. I hate it when that happens.

9. What's the best thing about Dland?
The fact that these entries will never get deleted...

10. Worst thing?
I dislike the fact that goldmembers can have a pirvate folder, I think nongoldmembers should be allowed that too.

11. Have you gotten any friends through Dland?
Yes. Many.

12. How many Diaryland accounts you have?
This one, lanienaked, randomlayout, hahareviews. I've had creativitly, stitch-revus, revuarevu and htmlaide though.

13. Do you have a story/zine/article diary in addition to your "normal" diary?
Yes, I've had one before, creativitly.

14. What kind of Diaries do you like to read?
I don't know, I like many diaries for different reasons, but the best ones for me are either really emotional, meaningful entries or short, simple and to the point. Of course, the really funny ones are great too.

15. What kind of Diaries don't you like to read?
I try to avoid the "Today I did this, then I did that..." kind of diaries.

16. Your favorite Diaries?
Too many to list. Check out my profile for everyone.

17. Do you use Diaryland layout defaults, or custom layout?
I make my own layouts.

18. If you use a custom-made layout, who made it for you?
I made it! :)

19. If you made your layout by yourself, or if you got a chance to wish for a layout theme when you requested for one, what influenced you, why did you choose to go with that particular theme or thing?
Oh, I don't know, I see images and I like them so I make a layout out of it, that's all there is to it for me.

20. Do you use the mail forwarding Diaryland offers for members?
What's that? I don't think so...

21. What kind of things do you write about in your diary?
Anything that means anything to me or how I feel about certain things.

22. How often do you update?
Daily.

23. Do you get comments often?
Um, I always get a message from wonderful Stacey! And Cheryl is starting to comment daily also.

24. When people comment, do they comment the content or the layout?
Content... well (sometimes) layout if it's new.

25. When people comment, do they use the Analyzer, Guestbook, e-mail or other commenting thing?
They usually use the notes.

26. Do you have a NotifyList?
Who would sign up if I had one?!

27. Do you have an account from Signmyguestbook.com?
Yes.

28. Do you have a page at Pitas?
Nope. No need.

29. Do you have a personal website somewhere, in addition to your diary?
I used to, I might get it back again, I don't know.

30. If so -- is your diary (or diaries) linked from it?
Um, yeah it would be.

31. Have you met any weirdos during your stay at Dland?
Not really... Weirder than you and I? I doubt that.

32. What kind of extra stuff do you have on your diary (e.g polls, poems, stories, art...)?
Um, yeah... check out my extras page.

33. Do you like to see extra things on people's diaries, or do you think the written content of the diary itself is more important?
I need both.

33. Do you have accounts on other diary hivesites such as LiveJournal etc.?
Yeah, I have an xanga.

34. Have you registered your diary to contests like "top 100 diaries" or such?
Yeah, I was in there at one point, I forgot what happened... oh well, I don't care now.

35. What is more important: writing to your diary or getting hits, comments or becoming well-known on Dland or well-known as a diary writer?
Ultimately writing in the diary is more important, but of course I want hits and I do want to be known.

36. Do you know your average hit per day rate at the moment?
Yeah. I have a little counter that tells me. :)

37. How many people are linking to your diary from their profiles at this moment?
64. ::Muwah:: Beaucoup d'amour pour tu!

38. Do you know why they link to you?
Yeah, usually.

39. Are you a Diaryland Gold Member and if you aren't, would you like to be one? Yeah, I would want to be one, but no one is rich enough to buy me and I'm not rich enough either. :( But I figure I'll live.

40. If you are a Gmember, why did you sign up for it? And if you aren't but would like to, why?
I don't have a credit card.

41. Why did you originally sign up for your diary account, has the reason changed during your stay at Dland?
Umm... I originally had another diary at scribble.nu, so annachan was supposed to be my secret diary, but then scribble started to cost money, so I just completely started writing here.

42. If you can track down referring urls, what is the most common search that generates your site in the results?
I don't know how to, but I don't really care.

43. Have you ever been quoted or submitted material to quoted?
I have no idea! Maybe... I hope I am special enough...

44. Have you ever submitted and/or been published at oddgoogle?
What?

45. What makes you link to other diaries?
If I like their diaries, I will!

46. Diaryland ad banners, good or bad?
Usually bad. I can't find any good diaries through the banners. They're so misleading.

47. Diaryrings for Gmembers only, good or bad?
Well, everyone cane join, but goldmembers can make them. I think that's a good idea, if I could make rings also, what would be the point of buying goldmember?

48. Diaryrings, good or bad?
Most are good, but the ones that are like anti-something. That creates discrimination, so that's bad.

49. Old Analyzer vs. new Analyzer, good or bad?
I'm not sure what you mean...

50. Do you wish to evolve as a writer through or using your diary, or do you just write?
All of the above.

51. Do you ever plan what to write, or is it all spontaneous?
Sometimes I plan if a certain thought or incident pops up, but other times it's spontaneous.

52. Has writing a diary helped you in any way, or have you had negative results?
Mostly it's been helpful. I have heard negative comments, but those will always be there no matter where you go.

53. Has your diary ever been found by someone you've written about?
I'm not sure, I don't think so.

54. Have you ever shown your diary to people you've written about and if so, what did they think?
Yes, I have. I couldn't tell them to their face because it was too hard so I told him to read the entry and that was that. It was about how I felt about him and stuff... so yeah.

55. Have you written a cast, terms list, or anything similar on your diary for readers to catch the meaning of words and names in your diary?
Yes. Here it is.

56. How do you review your own entries -- what kind of entries are good ones, what bad?
I don't review my entries... but I do like the ones where I talk about how I feel. My day to day logs are so boring sometimes that even I don't want to read them at times.

57. Have you ever deleted your own entries and if you have, was there a particular reason?
Nope.

58. Why did you choose to write a diary online, instead of keeping a locked book under your pillow, so to speak?
I used to, but I find online easier just because I can type a lot faster than I can write and sometimes when I'm writing down stuff in diaries I think too fast and forget what I was thinking when I stop to think about what I am writing. Plus, my wrist starts to hurt after awhile because of writing so fast.

59. Do you think there's a big difference between online and offline diaries and if so, what do you think these differences are?
Besides the fact that anyone can have access to your diary, the wrist hurting thing I was saying before...

60. Any final comments, thoughts, words of wisdom or random babble about Dland, other diary hive sites, diary-writing online or in general?
Nope, not really. Diaryland is great and so is online journaling.

sloth

envy

wrath

gluttony